Belated books of August

War and Peace - Larissa Volokhonsky, Richard Pevear, Leo Tolstoy Demelza - Winston Graham Malice at the Palace - Rhys Bowen The Feline Affair: An Incident Series Novelette - Neve Maslakovic Voices in the Ocean: A Journey Into the Wild and Haunting World of Dolphins - Susan Casey That's Not English: Britishisms, Americanisms, and What Our English Says About Us - Lynne Truss, Erin Moore Lafayette in the Somewhat United States - Sarah Vowell Hannah Arendt: A Life in Dark Times (Icons) - Anne C. Heller Ivory Vikings: The Mystery of the Most Famous Chessmen in the World and the Woman Who Made Them - Nancy Marie Brown Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante: A Maggie Hope Mystery - Susan Elia MacNeal

War and Peace – my review here

Demelza – I enjoyed this just as much as Poldark, the first book in the series which I reviewed here. Almost all the best lines of the BBC adaption, all those wonderful Lizzie Bennet-like comebacks, are taken from the books.

Malice at the Palace – my review here

The Feline Affair – my review here

Voices in the Ocean – my review here

That’s Not English – my review here

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States – my review here

Hannah Arendt: A Life in Dark Times – my review here

Ivory Vikings – my review here

Mrs. Roosevelt’s Confidante: A Maggie Hope Mystery – Set during WWII, this is book 5 in the series and I loved it, but since I read it as a NetGalley ARC I’ll post its review closer to the publication date. I will say that while not avoiding serious issues it’s much less dark than book 3–Maggie’s in the US this time and one of the characters meets Walt Disney!

Original post:
Jaylia3.booklikes.com/post/1243857/belated-books-of-august

Standard

Leave a Reply

